Suresh Ramasamy.png

Dr. Suresh Ramasamy


Chief Research Officer at Center for Advanced Computing and Telecommunications

Suresh Ramasamy was formerly the Head of Group IT Security for Hong Leong Group, managing 6 countries and 5 entities across the Hong Leong Financial Group.His tenure saw the growth of the Financial group’s digital strategy, moving the bank from an offline business into an online, modern, user centric omnichannel presence. This includes exploring new technologies such as Artificial Intelligence, Robotic Process Automation and Digitalization.


Prior to this, Suresh held multiple roles in Digi Telecommunications, spanning to Telenor Asia. This includes the Global Shared Services, building theinfrastructure hub in Malaysia specifically for the Asian OpCos. As the Chief Privacy Officer, he spear-led the initiative to comply with Malaysian Personal Data Protection Act. Whilst in the Technology Strategy, he built the framework and implemented cyber security controls.


Suresh has actively contributed to the community, both locally and internationally. Under International Standards Organization (ISO), he was responsible in co-authoring and editing the ISO 29192 Part 6 – Lightweight Cryptography. He is also part of SC27 group of ISO, responsible for the production of ISO 27000 family of standards. In Malaysia, he produced the nation’s first cyber security standards under the auspices of Malaysian Technical Standards Forum Berhad, empowered under the Communications & Multimedia Act 1997 to produce and mandate technical standards which governs the telecommunications and media/post industries, specifically the licensees of MCMC.


For his contributions, Suresh has won multiple award. He was awarded Cyber Security Professional of the Year for the year of 2017 by the Ministry and CSM. He was also awarded Most Valued Professional by Microsoft for his work on C# and .NET Framework. Suresh Ramasamy is a Professional Technologist under the Malaysian Board of Technologiest, carrying the title of Ts under the Technologist and Technicians Act 2015.